About Me

Hi! My name is Emily and I’m 20 years old. I’m from Weyburn Saskatchewan but am currently in my third year of music education at the University of Regina. I major on the oboe and my minor area of study is inclusive education.

IMG_0649So, a little bit about me. Music has always been a huge part of my life. I start taking singing lessons when I was 6 years old. As I got older, this evolved to lesson on piano, in music theory, and later, the oboe which has become my main instrument. I also played alto saxophone for 6 years. Inclusive Education has also always been something I’ve always had very strong feelings about. I started working with children with varying abilities in my teen years when I starting babysitting a young boy who was diagnosed with autism. He found a special place in my heart and my passion for this subject has only grown since then.

I am currently employed as a site-coordinator at the Before and After School Program. For this, I run a day-care-like program from 28 students aged 6 to 12 years old. I spend, on average, around 6 hours a day with these kids and love every second of it. In addition to this, I am also a program facilitator at SaskAbilities. I plan and organize activities and outings for 16-23 year olds with varying abilities. I meet with this group one evening a week to do fun activities in the community.

Furthermore, I am a dog lover, but ironically a cat mom. Some of my other hobbies include reading, hanging out with my friends, and listening to, and playing, music!

IMG_3323

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s